## Oceans Watch Indigenous People's Plan for the Temotu Province Solomon Islands

Temotu is the easternmost province of the Solomon Islands. It consists, essentially, of two chains of islands which run parallel to each other from the northwest to the southeast. The Islands or Island groups which make up the province are:

- Anuta
- Duff Islands (including Taumako)
- Fatutaka
- Lomlom
- Malo
- Matema
- Reef Islands (including Fenualoa, Makalom, Nalongo and Nupani, Nifiloli, Nukapu, Patteson Shoal, Pigeon

Island and Pileni)

• Santa Cruz Islands (including the large island Nendö)

Temotu Province 2

- Tikopia
- Tinakula
- Utupua
- Vanikoro (including Banie and Teanu)

The provincial capital is Lata, located on Nendo, the largest and most important of the Santa Cruz Islands. The population of 18,912 (1999) is quite diverse for the small land area encompassed. The Santa Cruz Islanders are predominantly Melanesian, although the inhabitants of Tikopia, Anuta, the Duff Islands and some of the Reef Islands are Polynesians.

The province has given its name to the *Temotu languages*, a putative linguistic subgroup within the broader Oceanic family of languages. The languages spoken in the province include all nine *Temotu* languages proper, plus two Polynesian outlier languages: Vaeakau-Taumako and Tikopia.

OceansWatch has a bottom up approach and only works where communities have invited us to help them in conservation, education and sustainable livelihood projects. After initial invitation our first visit is always to address the level of stakeholder support and interest to ensure it is not only serving the interests of a small sector of the community.

## **CURRENT SITUATION IN TEMOTU PROVINCE**

We have had requests for us to work with the following communities:

- Anuta
- Duff Islands (Taumako)
- Lomlom
- Reef Islands (Fenualoa)
- Santa Cruz Islands (including the large island Nendö)
- Tikopia
- Tinakula (no population, have been requested by the Temotu Provincial Assembly to help them implement a protected area here)
- Utupua

## • Vanikoro (Tevai)

We have discussed the proposed project with the village of Buma on Vanikoro and with the Provincial Assembly on Nende.

We will use our social assessment document guidelines with each community that we engage with.