KBA prioritaire
Couloir prioritaire
Autre KBA
Autre couloir
Corne de l'Afrique
Statistiques
À propos de ce point d'accès À propos
Investissement
:
pays éligibles
Profil d'écosystème

Centré sur la Corne aride, à l'est des hauts plateaux éthiopiens, le hotspot de la biodiversité de la Corne de l'Afrique couvre également la vallée du Rift, qui divise les hauts plateaux éthiopiens en deux blocs principaux, les bushlands xériques du nord-est du Kenya et les parties côtières sud de la péninsule arabique. Politiquement, cela comprend la majeure partie de la Somalie, tout Djibouti, des parties de l'Éthiopie, de l'Érythrée, du Kenya, du Yémen et d'Oman, et une petite partie de l'extrême nord-est du Soudan. Le hotspot comprend également l'archipel de Socotra au large des côtes du nord-est de la Somalie et quelques centaines de petites îles de la mer Rouge.

L'un des deux seuls points chauds entièrement aride, la région abrite un certain nombre d'antilopes endémiques et menacées, le Vulnerable dibatag (Ammodorcas clarkei) et la gazelle de Speke en danger (Gazelle spekei) parmi eux.

D'autres espèces endémiques distinctives trouvées ici incluent l'âne sauvage de Somalie en danger critique d'extinction (Equus africanus somaliensis) et le babouin hamadryas (Papio hamadryas). La Corne de l'Afrique abrite également plus de reptiles endémiques que toute autre région du continent.

Home Our Work Biodiversity Hotspots Horn Africa
Priority KBA
Priority Corridor
Other KBA
Other Corridor
Horn of Africa
Investment
2018
:
Stats
About this hotspot About
Investment
:
Eligible Countries
Ecosystem Profile

Centered on the arid Horn, east of the Ethiopian Highlands, the Horn of Africa Biodiversity Hotspot also covers the Rift Valley, which divides the Ethiopian Highlands into two major blocks, the xeric bushlands of northeastern Kenya and the southern coastal parts of the Arabian Peninsula. Politically, this includes most of Somalia, all of Djibouti, parts of Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Yemen and Oman, and a small piece of far north eastern Sudan. Also included in the hotspot are the Socotra Archipelago off the coast of northeastern Somalia, and a few hundred tiny islands in the Red Sea.

One of only two hotspots that is entirely arid, the region is home to a number of endemic and threatened antelope—the Vulnerable dibatag (Ammodorcas clarkei) and Endangered Speke’s gazelle (Gazella spekei) among them.

Other distinctive endemics found here include the Critically Endangered Somali wild ass (Equus africanus somaliensis) and the hamadryas baboon (Papio hamadryas). The Horn of Africa also holds more endemic reptiles than any other region on the continent.