Tree-spotted valley during a sunset, orange and pink sky.
South Africa's Karoo region, part of the Maputaland-Pondoland-Albany Biodiversity Hotspot.
© Wilderness Foundation/image by Chris Marais

CEPF is governed by senior representatives from our major donor organizations. The Donor Council approves priority areas and strategies for investment, and provides strategic guidance. (See the complete list of the Donor Council's responsibilities.)

The chairperson is elected by the Donor Council from candidates proposed by Donor Council members. The chairperson is independent of any of the global donors and can serve for a three-year term, renewable once.



Julia Marton-Lefèvre
Executive Fellow, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies
Yale University


Julia Bucknall
Director, Environment and Natural Resources Global Practice
The World Bank

Humberto Delgado Rosa
Director for Natural Capital
Directorate-General for Environment
European Commission

Jean-Luc François
Director, Ecological Transition and Natural Resource
L'Agence Française de Développement

Naoko Ishii
Chairperson and CEO
The Global Environment Facility

Jennifer Morris
Conservation International

Munenari Nomura
Director of Development Issues
Ministry of Finance – International Bureau
Government of Japan

Roberto Ridolfi
Director Sustainable Growth and Development
Directorate General for International Cooperation and Development - DEVCO
European Commission

Jørgen Thomsen, on behalf of the President
Director, Climate Solutions
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation